Screwfix Laser Fluid Extractor – Perfect for oil changes

One word: Awesome.

Earlier this year I decided to tackle the job of changing the oil in my girlfriend’s car myself. This involved making use of my Dad’s trolley jack, axel stands, sawing some small blocks of wood to spread the weight between car body and stands, then actually getting the sump plug undone, and clearing up the mess afterwards. As this was the first time I’d ever done such a thing, the whole procedure took us (Dad and g/f helped) three+ hours.

And yesterday based on mileage it was again necessary. But thanks to a forum thread I decided to check out the Screwfix Laser Fluid Extractor.

This was in stock at the local retail shop on my way home from the office earlier in the week. In fact the guy said he didn’t even need to look up the shelf position because it was so popular he remembered where it was.

How does it work? Well, when you’re ready with the engine nice and hot, remove the oil dipstick and replace with the flexible tub rod connected to bottle in this kit. You then pump the used oil out. I used an engine oil flush fluid to get as much as possible out but that’s up to you.

Constructing it really it easy. Screw the handle into the pump. Place pump onto valve located centre top of the bottle. Place long tube onto side hole. Take out your oil dipstick and place tube in instead until you feel the bottom of the engine. Begin pumping. Nice workout for your arms for 2-3 minutes until you spot air bubbles in the transparent tubing, you know you’re done.

Change the oil filter. Make sure you have a tray or something under the filter as when you unscrew you’ll get a slick of hot oil and ensure you hold it upright as plenty of oil will remain inside. Fit new oil filter and simply replace old oil in car.

Ta-da. Really, really simple and I’m told this is essentially what the garages do anyway. Whole job including reading instructions, ten minutes of warming engine up with oil engine flush, doing the job and refilling it all: 45 minutes to 1 hour. It’ll be a lot quicker next time and I won’t need to read the instructions.

3 Responses

  1. […] Re: How to: Change the Engine Oil and Filter (vRS) Sorry to raise a really old thread but it’s still perfectly valid and I have some further information. Mine’s the PD100 Elegance. The difference is that the socket on the oil filter canister is 36mm rather than 32mm on the vRS. Good job my mate at a garage checked before I bought the socket! Additionally – if you don’t fancy mucking about underneath the car – get a fluid extractor for the oil. […]

  2. Attractive component of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to claim that I get actually loved account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  3. Thank you for some other informative site. Where else could I am getting that type of info written in such a perfect means? I’ve a challenge that I am just now running on, and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

Leave a Reply

